Get it Sideways Stage Rally 17th April 2021
Ford Escort Mk2 crew Josh Payton/Jamie Vaughan sped to victory by 28 seconds at the completion of the Get It Sideways rally held on the concrete roads of the former RAF airfield at Down Ampney on Saturday 17th April. With multiple measures in place to run a Covid-safe event, organisers Cheltenham Motor Club produced an action-packed schedule of ten stages for the crews to tackle but three stage-stopping incidents saw this reduced to nine in the end as an impeccably observed minute’s silence to mark the passing of HRH Prince Phillip was also factored in. Payton/Vaughan set their stall out early by setting the fastest 2wd time on SS1 to take the early lead as the three 4wd cars ahead didn’t count towards the overall results and when they fell by the wayside so Payton/Vaughan became de facto rally leaders on SS4 setting 5 fastest stage times on their way to the win, the pair surviving a scare on SS7 with a spin which brought the chasing Vauxhall Corsa S1600 of the committed Neil Weaver/James Bailey on to equal terms before scorching times on SS8 and SS9 moved the Escort crew 28 seconds clear of the Vauxhall. A rapid run through the afternoon stages moved the spectacularly driven Peugeot 205 of Andy Corner/Ade Camp up to third, seven seconds behind Weaver/Bailey. Three Mk2 Ford Escorts filled the next spots as the 2.5 litre cars of Stefan Davies/Dan Petrie and Tomas Davies/Elgan Davies sandwiched the 2 litre example of Steve Harkness/Wayne ‘Eric’ Ball and in a giant-killing seventh overall came the 1400cc MG ZR of Richard Jordan/Dan Evans. Winner of Class E for 4wd cars was the S2000 Proton Satria Neo of Ben Moore/Andy Tomlinson and top Historic crew were Rex Ireland/Adrian Scadding’s Ford Escort Mk2 at the end of a warm, sunny and dusty day.Report Stephen Carpenter EDP.
NG’s second and final meeting of a short 2020 season took place at the fast Castle Combe circuit in Wiltshire over the weekend of the 26th and 27th September in sunny weather but with a chilly breeze and the subsequent cold track temperatures caught out a number of riders at the Esses in particular. Wheeling out his 600cc Honda and taking a firm grip on the Phoenix Open races, for which the three races counted towards the ‘King of Combe’ title, and the IMS 600s saw Daniel Cooper setting pole position and sealing the win in all six races he contested. On Sunday morning he was made to work for the win with Preston’s Sean Montgomery on his 1000cc Kawasaki taking the fight to Cooper and leading the early stages before Cooper found a way past. It was a fruitful weekend for Montgomery in the Powerbikes bagging a second and a win before crossing the line first on the road after getting into a race three scrap with BMW mounted Max Symonds, who was crowned Phoenix Open champion over the weekend and Suzuki riding James Cox up from the rear of the grid but was slapped with a 10 seconds penalty for jumping the start dropping Monty to fifth but more importantly grabbing the 2020 Bluebell Lakes Powerbikes championship. The Dunlop ACU 250GP championship races saw pole sitter Charlie Nesbitt fall on the opening lap of Saturday’s race allowing the versatile Phil Atkinson to take the win on his elderly Yamaha TZ350 before doubling up on Sunday morning as Nesbitt charged up to second from the back on his KTM Moto3 bike before the duo duked it out in the afternoon with Nesbitt triumphant. In the Sound of Thunder races senior rider Paul Willis took Saturday’s encounter on the big RC8 KTM before a high speed accident at Folly on Sunday morning involving Mark Compton’s Ducati Panigale ended his weekend so True Heroes Racing’s Ben Falla took the restarted bout with Owen Hunt aboard a 675 Triumph taking the afternoon race. In the burgeoning Formula Prostocks competition Ducati 916 mounted Ant Hart won as he pleased on Saturday but an overnight trip down from Oulton Park for Nick Williamson proved worthwhile as he stormed though the field to win on Sunday morning from the back of the grid then had a great dice with Hart en route to the victory in the afternoon on his Honda VTR1000 SP1. Born from the Formula Prostocks the all action Motul FPR Suzuki Bandit Challenge had four riders in a tangle for the race wins with Peter Bardell managing to bag all three with Harley Prebble, James McHardy and James Newbould scrapping for the podium placings whilst Gary Cutts also took a third on Sunday afternoon. Among the smaller capacity classes Richie Welsh took three wins on his 400 Yamaha, two in the Open 500s and the final Formula 400 victory after long time leader Ben Harrison engaged a false neutral dropping him to second after taking out the first two wins from Welsh whilst in the Mini Twins Antony Lewis and William Holland took the top two placings in the first two combative races with Holland taking the third as Jordan Boyle split the pair. After a weekend of full grids and great racing the NG fraternity now faces an extended winter as the ongoing Coronavirus pandemic restrictions put paid to the planned final 2020 meeting at Pembrey on the 10th and 11th October.Report Stephen Carpenter EDP Photo News.

NG Grand National Castle Combe 26th – 27th September 2020

Cadwell Park 29th – 30th August


The NG Road Racing Club returned to the race track for the first weekend of racing action in 2020 at Cadwell Park over the weekend of the 29th and 30th August after the Coronavirus outbreak left a much reduced calendar. A weekend of two halves with Saturday’s action taking place in soggy conditions before drying out for Sunday’s races with some riders’ favouring the tricky conditions on Saturday whilst Sunday’s dry conditions brought other names to the fore of the 34 action packed races!

NG Road Racing Cadwell Park 29 – 30 August 2020